CALL 1.800.821.9970 LOCAL 614.821.9970TEXT 53299
Login With Facebook

Scott Weiland has slated former band Stone Temple Pilots’ collaboration with Chester Bennington, saying it “didn’t work.”

The Linkin Park singer was drafted in last year after STP announced they’d “terminated” their relationship with Weiland, later describing it as “toxic.”

They launched an EP entitled High Rise and more work is planned – but Weiland insists the project was a flop.

He tells iChill: “It sold 35,000 units. That’s kind of unbelievable considering STP sold over 40million, and I’m sure Linkin Park has sold pretty much the same amount. It didn’t work – people weren’t buying into it.”

He won’t rule out a third stint with the band he co-founded, reflecting: “I’ve learned to never say never in this business.”

Last month Weiland talked up a return to Velvet Revolver, saying he wanted an “easy money” reunion and that he’d spoken to his former colleagues about it.

Now he adds: “I heard they’re auditioning new singers again. Maybe I should go to the cattle call. We did make it work and see success.”

Avenged Sevenfold's Johnny Christ says working on the reissue of second album Waking The Fallen has made him take stock of their success.

The bassist recalls handing out free demos around the time they recorded the 2003 record, set for relaunch in the form of Waking The Fallen: Resurrected.

Christ tells Loudwire: "There was a time when we were in a van and handing out CDs at Warped Tour. We had a two-song EP that we were handing out for free, just to promote ourselves. That's a very different thing than where we are at now."

The reissue includes a DVD which features footage of the band with drummer The Rev, who died in 2009. Although seeing his late friend in film still hurts, Christ says the pain is easing with time.

"Any time we see stuff with Jimmy it's bittersweet," the bassist reports. "Little by little we get by a little better each time. Things start to get a little easier; anyone who's lost someone knows that you still feel that way. But you find out that you can celebrate it rather than let it hurt you.

"It’s actually nice to see The Rev, all in black, wearing makeup and everything like that; it's fun to look back and see that youthful time."

Waking The Fallen: Resurrected is released on August 25.

Slipknot has announced that they have added an additional stage and ten additional acts to their upcoming Knotfest that will be taking place in Southern California this fall.

The new stage will be called "Extreme Stage 005" and will feature performances from Fear Factory, Napalm Death, Satyricon, Amen, Otep, Prong, Immolation, Attika 7 and more.

Other artist performing at the festival include Danzig, Five Finger Death Punch, Volbeat, Of Mice & Men, Anthrax and more, with Slipknot headlining on Saturday and Sunday nights.

The Knotfest will be taking place on October 24-26 at San Manuel Amphitheater & Campgrounds in San Bernardino, CA and the band has also revealed the stage lineup details.

Friday, October 24-Pre-Party For Camping & VIP Guests
Stage 003: The Black Dahlia Murder, Chelsea Grin
Stage 002: Suicide Silence, Butcher Babies, Alterbeast

Saturday, October 25
Extreme Stage 005: Satyricon, Otep, Amen, Prong, Immolation
Stage 003: In This Moment, The Devil Wears Prada, Butcher Babies, Miss May I, One OK Rock
Stage 002: Testament, Carcass, Maximum The Hormone, King 810, Man With A Mission
Stage 001: Slipknot, Danzig, Anthrax, Black Label Society, Hatebreed

Sunday, October 26
Extreme Stage 005: Fear Factory, Napalm Death, Attika 7, Exmortus, Rattlehead
Stage 003: Killswitch Engage, Whitechapel, Upon A Burning Body, Anti-Mortem
Stage 002: Of Mice & Men, DevilDriver, Veil Of Maya, Nothing More
Stage 001: Slipknot, Five Finger Death Punch, Volbeat, Tech N9ne, Atreyu, Hellyeah

METALLICA's official YouTube channel Metallica TV has been updated with fly-on-the-wall footage shot by a reporter on July 9 in Vienna, Austria. The 16-minute clip includes footage of drummer Lars Ulrich in the Met Club meet-and-greet and "Master Of Puppets" and "Whiskey In The Jar" from the show.

The band's setlist for the concert was as follows:

01. Battery
02. Master Of Puppets
03. Welcome Home (Sanitarium)
04. Ride The Lightning
05. The Unforgiven
06. Lords Of Summer
07. Wherever I May Roam
08. Sad But True
09. Fade To Black
10. ...And Justice For All
11. One
12. For Whom The Bell Tolls
13. Whiskey In The Jar
14. Nothing Else Matters
15. Enter Sandman


16. St. Anger
17. Blackened
18. Seek & Destroy

As previously reported, METALLICA stars in the latest ESPN "This Is SportsCenter" ad. The clip, which debuted on July 14 during this year's All-Star Home Run Derby, plays off the idea that the band members don't know what to do with themselves since Yankees star reliever Mariano Rivera retired last season and took his "Enter Sandman" entrance music with him — so the band begins a desperate search for something else to do.

Drummer Lars Ulrich said, "Sometimes it can be quite freeing to put yourself at the mercy of others. ESPN's commercials have a tendency to be hilarious. We were like, 'That sounds like a good time.' The whole thing had an overriding impulsivity to it."

The long-running series of comical "This Is SportsCenter" ads promote ESPN's "SportsCenter" sports news show.

The commercials, which debuted in 1994, are presented in a deadpan mockumentary style, lampooning various aspects of sports and sports broadcasting.

After completing a recent European festival run, METALLICA has just one show on its calendar for the rest of 2014, at the Heavy MTL festival in Montreal on August 9.

The band is slated to enter the studio and begin recording its 10th studio album this fall.

According to The Pulse Of Radio, AVENGED SEVENFOLD is back in control of its Twitter account after it was hacked and taken over by a group of racists. the band's followers were subjected to vile slogans, images and video clips by an organization calling itself Clan Vv3 Ape Squad. The organization took responsibility for the hacks on its web site, writing, "Another couple Twitters got popped by your fellow neighbourhood apes. Mastodon, 131,000 followers — A7X, 1,230,000 followers."

MASTODON also confirmed that its account was hacked.

Some followers were apparently unaware that the hackers had changed the AVENGED account's username and avatar, somehow believing instead that a major mainstream rock band would begin posting racist remarks and images.

Both bands managed to get control of their accounts back within 24 hours, deleted the inappropriate posts and released brief statements on the situation.

Meanwhile, AVENGED SEVENFOLD is currently on the Rockstar Energy Drink Mayhem Festival tour with KORN, and guitarist Zacky Vengeance told The Pulse of Radio what it's like to be second on the bill instead of the headliners this time around. "For us, we have 75 minutes a night, which is relatively short for us at this point, to impact the audience as much as we can. And we're playing after a legendary band like KORN, who's gonna go out there, play an entire set filled with radio hits that every single person knows, so for us, we've got to go out there and we've got to put on the best show — which is easy to do on a tour like this because we're having a lot of fun."

AVENGED SEVENFOLD will reissue its breakthrough second album, "Waking The Fallen", in a new special edition on August 26 that will include 11 never-before-heard songs, a 30-minute documentary and more.

Page 1 of 35
You are now being logged in using your Facebook credentials